Schedule

8:00 AM to 8:30 AM  Registration & Networking

8:30 AM to 10:00 AM Session 1

Room 105:

Separated Bike Lane Planning and Design
Shaun Lopez-Murphy, Toole Design Group, slopezmurphy@tooledesign.com
Jeremy Chrzan, Toole Design Group, jchrzan@tooledesign.com

This session discusses the evolution of separated bike lanes and offers design principles for safe implementation.  Topics of discussion include identifying how a protected intersection reduces or eliminates conflicts between bicycles and motor vehicles, signalized intersection operations, demonstrating how stormwater best management practices can be incorporated into separated bike lane designs to reduce stormwater pollution, and discusses how these bike facilities can be incorporated into the transportation infrastructure network. The session will reference the Massachusetts DOT Separated Bike Lane Guide, various FHWA guides, and the planning and design experiences of Toole Design Group.

Room 104:

Green “Paint” in Cedar Rapids
Brandon Whyte, Corridor MPO, b.whyte@corridorMPO.com

The City of Cedar Rapids has had almost three years experience with green bike lanes and trail crossings. We will take a look at how Cedar Rapids has used green “paint”, how it has held up, and any lessons learned.

Green Paint Products
Zac Coping, Ennis Flint, zcope@ennisflint.com

Bike Boxes
Paul LaFleur, FHWA, paul.lafleur@dot.gov

Bike Boxes, what are those?  How do they work?  When should they be used?  Why should they be used?  All are great questions that will be answered in this overview discussion of Bike Boxes.  From purpose and usage to design and MUTCD approval, the Iowa Division of the FHWA will present on the current state of bike boxes across the US.

10:00 AM to 10:30 AM  Networking Break

10:30 AM to 12:00 PM Session 2

Room 105:

Separated Bike Lane Planning and Design
(Continued from first session)

Room 104:

Prudent Scofflaws?  Bicyclists and the Seemingly Elusive “Stop”
Mindy Moore, Snyder & Associates, mmoore@snyder-associates.com
Jennifer Wiltgen, Snyder & Associates, jwiltgen@snyder-associates.com
Jared Foss, Snyder & Associates, jfoss@snyder-associates.com
Kathleen Conner, Snyder & Associates, keconnor@snyder-associates.com

Many motorists view bicyclists as scofflaws that peddle through stop signs with seeming disregard for motorists or pedestrians.  Each stakeholder and profession involved in the creation and use of bicycle facilities has their own, often different, perception of how these intersection interactions should play out.  Safety, equity, utility, and liability often factor into these different perspectives.  In this session, we will discuss the intricacies of navigating the intersection microcosm from the planner’s, engineer’s, local government’s and bicycling advocate’s perspective.  This session will explore the factors contributing to this behavior and identify and discuss a possible solutions that may help to address it.

12:00 PM to 1:00 PM Lunch and Networking, Room 103

1:00 PM to 2:30 PM  Session 3

Room 105:

FHWA Guidance Session
Paul LaFleur, FHWA, paul.lafleur@dot.gov

Through the FHWA there are many programs and initiatives that aim to improve safety and reduce the number of fatalities and serious injuries that occur with bicyclists and pedestrians.  This session will cover topics such as funding improvements, bike/ped safety improvement ideas, safety planning, and tools for evaluating safety and mobility.

FHWA Funding and New Tools
Sean Litteral, FHWA, sean.litteral@dot.gov

This presentation will describe FHWA’s Transportation Alternative Program and funding opportunities for bicycle infrastructure.  In addition, I will showcase new tools and initiatives available to the public from FHWA to improve the planning process for bike/pedestrian infrastructure and improvements.

Iowa Specific Research on Bicycling Safety
Cara Hamann, University of Iowa, cara-hamann@uiowa.edu

An overview of bicycling safety research results that has been conducted in Iowa. This will include a study of driver performance related to overtaking bicyclists, charges and convictions in bicycle- motor vehicle collisions, and bicycle-specific infrastructure and pavement treatments.

Room 104:

Missteps and Successes in Ames, improving public feedback for an easier biking future.
Trevin Ward, Ames Bicycle Coalition, trevin.ward@gmail.com

The Ames Bicycle Coalition has had some successes in recent years from adopting a strong Long Range Transportation Plan that includes strong community input driven bicycle considerations, to commitment from the City for funding increases for bicycle and pedestrian infrastructure. ABC would like to share their missteps and successes so everyone can work towards better public input and an easier biking future.

Zoning and Land Use in Active Transportation
Marty Shukart, RDG USA, mshukert@rdgusa.com  

This session will address the private connection to public active transportation networks. This will include land use planning and regulatory methods to create more bicycle and pedestrian-friendly private development; and site design innovations and retrofits to improve safe pedestrian and bicycle access to the “front door.”

2:30 PM to 3:00 PM  Networking Break

3:00 PM to 4:30 PM  Session 4

Room 105:

E-Bikes
Jonathan Weinert, Bosch, Jonathan.Weinert@us.bosch.com
Steve Falck

Electric bicycles offer an opportunity to enormously expand bicycling in Iowa. They are especially important for parents with children, senior citizens, and people with disabilities, as well as ecologically-minded people with longer commutes, or whose trips involve steep hills or heavy loads. This session will describe how the eBike market is evolving in Europe and the United States, and shed light on the early adopters of this technology in the US and how they use e-bikes. It will also discuss policy implications for Iowa.

Active Transportation Innovations for Small Towns and Rural Communities
Paul Wojciechowski, ALTA Planning + Design, paulw@altaplanning.com
Tim Gustafson, ALTA Planning + Design, timgustafson@altaplanning.com

With the release of a new publication by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), the Small Town and Rural Multimodal Networks (STAR) Guide focuses on design guidelines that aim to improve bicycling and walking in communities seeking solutions more tailored to their small town needs. This presentation will provide a first look into this idea book for smaller communities, with visualizations and guidance for contemporary walking and biking facilities. Based in FHWA and AASHTO guidance, the Small Town and Rural guide applies a flexible design approach to creating more comfortable places for walking and biking. In addition to a preview of this guide, this session will include recent examples of projects from small towns from throughout the Midwest by Alta Planning + Design.

Room 104:

University Avenue Complete Streets Implementation
Codie Leseman, INRCOG, cleseman@inrcog.org

This presentation examines the challenges, considerations, and solutions for implementing complete streets concepts along a principal arterial roadway.  The cities of Cedar Falls and Waterloo have recently accepted jurisdiction of their respective segments of University Avenue, formerly maintained by the Iowa DOT.  Cedar Falls has already completed design work, and construction for Phase One is underway.  Waterloo is still in the early planning stages, and discussions are underway regarding the future of their segment of the corridor.

Evaluating Complete Streets Projects
Erin Evenhouse,Transportation for America, erin.evenhouse@t4america.org

What do communities implementing Complete Streets achieve with these investments? This session shares data-driven analysis of 30+ built Complete Streets projects and their transportation and economic performance in diverse communities. It then proposes a comprehensive performance-based approach for transportation decision making.

Active Living Iowa Collaborative & Walking College
Sarah Taylor Watts, Iowa Department of Public Health sarah.taylorwatts@idph.iowa.gov

Sarah will share information regarding current health department initiatives to make walking and biking easier for Iowans.  This includes the Active Living Iowa Collaborative, the Iowa Walking College and the MPO Complete Streets initiative.